Boodie, Motie and Shepherd – the new faces in Jaguars Super50 squad

Kevon Boodie

HARD-hitting opener Kevon Boodie, left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie and fast bowler Romario Shepherd are the three new caps named in the Guyana Jaguars squad to participate in this month’s NAGICO Super50 tournament, to be played in St Kitts and Trinidad and Tobago.The 14-man squad will be captained by Leon Johnson with Christopher Barnwell the vice-captain.

Romario Shepherd
Romario Shepherd

The full squad reads: Leon Johnson (captain), Christopher Barnwell (vice-captain), Assad Fudadin, Kevon Boodie, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Vishaul Singh, Raymon Reifer, Anthony Bramble, Steven Jacobs,
Veerasammy Permaul, Gudakesh Motie, Paul Wintz, Romario Shepherd and Royston Crandon.
Devendra Bishoo and Rajendra Chandrika are on duty with the West Indies team in Australia. As soon as they are available, they will replace two players.
Guyana depart for St Kitts on January 4 as the NAGICO Super50 tournament opens on January 7, and will again be contested among the eight teams, comprising the six territorial franchises, as well as the Marooners and an ICC Americas composite side.
The Jaguars have been placed in Group ‘B’ alongside Jamaica Scorpions, Windward Islands Volcanoes and Leeward Islands Hurricanes with St Kitts and Nevis being the host country.
The preliminary competition will be played under a non-elimination format with the eight teams equally divided into two groups. Each side will play six matches during the preliminary rounds, with each playing the others in their group twice.

Gudakesh Motie
Gudakesh Motie

The top two teams from each group advance to the semi-finals at Queen’s Park Oval (Trinidad), where the group winners play the runners-up from the opposite group in a one-off match for a place in the Grand Final on Sunday, January 24, at the same venue.
This number equals a total of 27 matches for the biggest, senior regional domestic 50 overs-a-side tournament ever staged by the WICB.
Group ‘A’, which will be played in Trinidad and Tobago, comprises Red Force, Marooners, Barbados Pride and ICC Americas.