Home > SPORTS > Johnson named AYSC Cricketer-of-the-Year

Johnson named AYSC Cricketer-of-the-Year

… Joseph honoured for LCPL selection

FOLLOWING a two-year absence from the gentleman’s game of cricket, where he turned his attention to other sports for reasons unknown, former national Under-19 fast bowler Raun Johnson was last Saturday named Cricketer-of-the-Year for the Achievers Youth and Sports Club (AYSC).
It was announced at the AYSC’s annual Awards ceremony that was held in the compound of the Regional Democratic Council (RDC) of Region 5, at which Deputy Vice Chancellor of the University of Guyana Philip DaSilva and the institution’s Registrar and Chairman of the Forbes Burnham Foundation Vincent Alexander delivered remarks.
Also among the list of awardees was national fast bowler Keon Joseph, who received a Special Award for his selection to the Guyana Amazon Warriors team which competed and placed second to the Jamaica Tallawahs in the inaugural Limacol Caribbean Premier League T20 tournament.
The 22-year-old Johnson, who plied his trade in Trinidad and Tobago last year and this year, made a successful return to the game for West Berbice whom he represented at the first division level, taking 16 wickets for 253 runs in the 50 overs competition and 29 more victims for 152 runs in T20.
He got best figures of 5 for 16 in the Berbice Cricket Board/Universal DVD-sponsored T20 against Young Warriors while he had best bowling figures in the 50 overs of 4 for 14. He was also named Most Disciplined Player-of-the-Year by the executives of the AYSC.
Titus Webster started the presentation of awards rolling, when he walked away with the Under-15 Batsman-of-the-Year, having scored a total of 120 runs, with Randy Wade being named the Under-17 Batsman-of-the-Year for his 231 runs.
The Under-19 Batsman-of-the-Year was none other than Quacey McPherson (253 runs) with Sherwin Peterkin taking the accolades for Under-19 Bowler-of-the-Year, having had best figures of 4 for 28, winning from the other two nominees, Grisean Grant and Kurd Griffith.
Travette Carmichael was named the Most Improved Player in the Under-15 category, Krisendat Ramoo for the Most Wickets in the 50 overs tournament, 26 for 23, even as Joseph, Johnson and Ramoo were rewarded for their Outstanding Performance in the T20 tournament.
Rafael Estriado was named the Club’s Cricket Ambassador-of-the-Year ahead of Johnson with Arthley Bailey and Ramoo finishing third and fourth respectively. Estriado received another trophy for Most Runs scored at the first division level, 426.
Prior to the presentation of awards, the club’s president David Black give his report for 2013, where several players were called to selection for Berbice at various age groups. He called on all and sundry to keep up the good image of the club and strive for more excellence in 2014.

(By Calvin Roberts)

Leave a Reply

Hit Counter provided by laptop reviews