Uitvlugt  thump QC 11-2; Vergenoegen hold CWSS


THE inaugural Guyoil/Tradewind tankers football league continued on Tuesday afternoon at the Ministry of Education (MOE) ground with two intense matches.

In the feature match, West Demerara-based school, Uitvlugt, didn’t hold back against the lads from Queen’s College and inflicted a heavy 11-2 thrashing which was spearheaded by five goals from Anthony Benn in the 4th, 28th, 29th, 52nd and 66th minutes.

It was an extremely dominant performance for the West Side school and Ruben Dainty was very much involved in the action with a hat-trick of his own with goals in the 18th, 44th and 53rd minutes.

Also on the scoresheet for the victors were Jadius Edwards with a brace after successful strikes in the 26th and 56th minutes, while Ivelaw Khan scored one goal in the 36th minute.

Meanwhile, in the opening match on Tuesday,  leaders Vergenoegen held the free-scoring Christianburg/Wismar Secondary School (CWSS) to a 1-1 draw; the Lindener’s second consecutive draw.

CWSS who are the champions of Linden, prior to this top of the table clash, had scored 26 goals in four matches, with one of the those four games being a goalless draw against Bishops’ High.

Ronaldo Macey continued his goal-scoring form for the league’s front-runners and sent his side ahead within 26 minutes of the first half, but with two minutes of normal time remaining in that period of play, Tyrese Lewis made no mistake as he equalised for CWSS. As CWSS sent wave after attacking wave, Vergenoegen absorbed the pressure and held on for a point.

On Monday, Dolphin Secondary made light work of Marian Academy with a 3-1 victory, courtesy of goals off the laces of Shamar Welch in the 29th, Kieron Dazzle in the 51st and Judah Younge in the 9th. Daniel Lowe scored a consolation goal for Marian in the 60th minute.

In the feature match played on Monday, Annandale scored three unanswered goals against Queenstown. Sean Haywood, Omari Glasgow and Jamar Harrigon each scored in the win for the East Coast Demerara-based school.