Local FIFA referees off to officiate at Caribbean Club Championship
Kevin Stephens (L) and Gladwyn Johnson
Kevin Stephens (L) and Gladwyn Johnson

… Eight Guyanese retrained as FIFA-accredited match officials

TWO locally-based FIFA referees have been appointed match officials for the Caribbean Club Championship being held in Trinidad and Tobago from January 31 to February 4.

Gladwyn Johnson and Kevin Stephens are among 12 match officials appointed by CONCACAF to serve at the event.

In an invited comment, Johnson said he was happy for his first appointment of 2018, stating, “I really appreciate this appointment. It’s always a pleasure to officiate, doing what I love doing. I’m looking forward to having a wonderful tournament officiating as I strive for excellence as I go along in my refereeing career.”

Stephens, for his part, considers this appointment as a step to achieve his goal of officiating at the FIFA World Cup: “I will continue to strive for excellence and to develop an attitude and habit to that of a professional referee since my goal is to officiate at the FIFA World Cup.

“With this, I’m hoping to pave the way for other young aspiring referees to follow in my footsteps and bring more glory to our beautiful Guyana.”
Among the other match officials are those from Jamaica, Mexico, St Kitts and Nevis, Cuba, Panama, Trinidad and Tobago, United States of America, Cayman Islands, Curaçao and El Salvador.

Meanwhile, Johnson and Stephens are among eight local-based FIFA-accredited match officials retained for 2018 – three male, one female referee and four Assistant Referees.
The lone female official, Maurees Skeete, is listed as a CONCACAF Tier 2 referee. Johnson maintained his status in the CONCACAF Targeted Advanced Referee Programme (TARP) while Stephens regained his status as a CONCACAF Tier 2 Assistant Referee and Mr Sherwin Moore maintained his status as a CONCACAF Tier 3 referee.

According to Stanley Lancaster, Head of GFF’s Refereeing Department, the list of referees re-nominated to the FIFA 2018 panel is encouraging. However, he was disappointed that it also signals a reduction to the number of locally based FIFA-accredited match officials.
“The team of re-nominated referees have been consistent in their performance over the past year and signal the confidence the governing body has in the locally based match officials.

Unfortunately, two have not been re-nominated for 2018 – Lenval Peart and Odessa Caleb – but we hope the re-nominated team will inspire other referees to work and commit even harder to the process,” said Lancaster.

The re-nominated referees are:
Male Referees: Sherwin Moore, Gladwyn Johnson and Sherwin Johnson

Male Assistant Referees:
Venton Mars, Kevin Stephens, Trevor Porter and Kleon Lindey

Female Referee: Maurees Skeete


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All our printed editions are available online
Subscribe to the Guyana Chronicle.
Sign up to receive news and updates.
We respect your privacy.