Home > SPORTS > GCB/GT&T/HAND-IN-HAND 4-DAY : Action bowls off today with second round matches : … First round pushed back

GCB/GT&T/HAND-IN-HAND 4-DAY : Action bowls off today with second round matches : … First round pushed back

FOLLOWING a rain-interrupted schedule first round start last week, the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) will today commence their Guyana Telephone and Telegraph Company (GT&T) in collaboration with Hand-in-Hand Group of Companies-sponsored four-team four-day championships.At Everest, former champions Berbice will collide with President’s XI while at Enmore on East Coast of Demerara, perennial whipping boys Essequibo will take on defending champions Demerara, who will be led by GCB Cricketer-of-the-Year Leon Johnson.

There is no doubt that Demerara will start the encounter at Enmore against a lineup that is missing key fast bowler Ronsford Beaton as favourites, as only three members in the 14-man squad have not represented Guyana at the First Class level, while one of them has never represented Guyana at any level.
Rajendra Chandrika and Trevon Griffith will open their batting with Johnson, former Guyana and West Indies skipper Ramnaresh Sarwan, Christopher Barnwell, Steven Jacobs and Zaheer Mohammed bolstering the middle order.
Discarded national wicketkeeper batsman Derwin Christian will lead the lower order with support from Paul Wintz, Amir Khan and Trevon Garraway, while Garraway, Wintz, Mohammed, Khan, Barnwell, Jacobs, and to some extent Griffith and Johnson, will take charge of the Demerara bowling department.
Left-arm orthodox spinner Anthony Adams will lead the Cinderella County side which also includes Gilford Moore, who represented the Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC) in Regional first class and Super50 tournaments, before returning to Guyana.
Also included in their lineup is Dillon Heyliger, who, like Rajiv Ivan, was named in Guyana’s 2012 Caribbean T20 tournament squad, but did not play any game, Keanu Harry, Kevon Boodie, Ricardo Peters, Mark Tyrell and the lively Kemo Paul.
The Sewnarine Chattergoon-led Berbice team, like Demerara, comprises players who have represented Guyana at various levels, will have their work cut out when they go up against a confident Vishal Singh-led President’s XI at Everest.
West Indies’ ‘A’ team middle order batsman Assad Fudadin, Jonathan Foo, Royston Crandon, Anthony Bramble, Rajiv Ivan, Raun Johnson, Devon Clements and Keon Joseph, like Chattergoon, have all represented Guyana at one level or another.
Chattergoon, Anthony D’Andrade, Fudadin, Foo, Crandon, Ivan, Bramble and Clements will take care of the batting with Bishoo also contributing in that area, while Joseph, Johnson, Bishoo, Crandon, Ivan, Clement and Krisendat Ramoo will be responsible for the bowling.
The President’s XI lineup consists of players who were unfortunate not to make their County sides and will be looking to show to their respective County selectors the mistake they would have made in not selecting them.
Ryan Ramdass and Shemroy Barrington have played for Guyana at the first class level before, along with Singh, and all three along with Andre Stoll, Robin Bacchus and Kellon Carmichael, were overlooked for the Demerara team even though they were in the trial squads.
Apart from Collis Butts and Jason Sinclair, all other players in the President’s XI have played for Guyana at various levels, which makes this year’s tournament a highly competitive one, once all the players compete to their true potential, since it is being used as a yardstick for selection to Guyana team.
Gyananand Sookdeo and Imran Moakan are the men in charge of play at Everest with Patrick Garnath as the standby, while at Everest N. Shivsankar and Nolan Hawke will call play in the middle, with Montgomery Chester as the standby official. Listed below is a list of all the squads:
President’s XI: Vishal Singh, Shemroy Barrington, Robin Bacchus, Ryan Ramdass, Seon Hetmyer, Shaquille Williams, Jason Sinclair, Romario Shepherd, Collis Butts, Steven Sankar, Kellon Carmichael, Andre Stoll, Dominique Rikhi and Seon Daniels. The Coach is Esuan Crandon and the Manager is Robert `Pacer’ Adonis.
Demerara: Leon Johnson, Christopher Barnwell, Trevon Griffith, Rajendra Chandrika, Christopher Pattadin, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Steven Jacobs, Derwin Christian, Amir Khan, Zaheer Mohammed, Paul Wintz, Trevon Garraway, Randolph Knights and Totaram Bishun.
Berbice: Sewnarine Chattergoon, Anthony D’Andrade, Assad Fudadin, Jonathan Foo, Royston Crandon, Rajiv Ivan, Devon Clements, Anthony Bramble, Eugene LaFleur, Kandasammy Surujnarine, Keon Joseph, Devendra Bishoo, Krisendat Ramoo and Raun Johnson.
Essequibo: Royan Fredericks, Anthony Adams, Kevon Boodie, Ricardo Peters, Avenash Persaud, Herry Greene, Parmesh Parsotam, Mark Tyrell, Rajiv Balgobin, Rovindra Parsram, Kemo Paul, Keanu Harry, Dillon Heyliger and Gilford Moore.
Written By Calvin Roberts

Leave a Reply

Hit Counter provided by laptop reviews