300 educators to receive Duty-Free concessions


Cabinet has granted approval for some 300 educators drawn from across the country to be granted duty- free concessions.

Director General of the Ministry of the Presidency, Joseph Harmon made the announcement today at a post Cabinet press briefing at the Ministry of the Presidency.

Harmon said that the move was made as a follow up to a memorandum of understanding (MOU) between the Ministry of Education and the Guyana Teachers Union.

Those eligible educators include heads and deputy headteachers of Grade A and B schools , headteachers of Grade C, D and E schools and senior masters and Heads of Departments of the Cyril Potter College of Education and technical schools.

The concessions will be for vehicles with capacities up to 1800cc , outboard engines of 75 horsepower, and All Terrain Vehicles for eligible persons in the Hinterland.

Eligible persons must be members of the GTU for no less than 3 years and must have at least 3 years of service remaining.