Potential Democracy Awardees

Dear Editor,
THE International Day of Democracy was observed last Friday and the PPP/C had much to rejoice about, much to the consternation and frustration of the PNC.
The PPP/C Government was not installed on August 2, 2020, by anyone, but was duly elected, legally and legitimately by the people of Guyana, after a hard-fought, protracted electoral process. The party won by a majority of 33 seats.

Dr. Mohamed Irfaan Ali was sworn in as President after delay tactics by the PNC, which attempted to influence the outcome of the election by their manipulation and their members.
Notably, a CoI concluded earlier this year found the mischievous and blasphemous irritants guilty of breaching GECOM rules and regulations.

Democracy was under siege and the will of the people was being denied by a bunch of tyrants led by someone who was labelled a “sanctimonious gangster” for wanting to retain power at any cost.

But it was the diligence, strength and determination among other factors, from the joint effort and cooperation of the local, regional and international community, which was responsible for the PPP/C to be rightfully elected as the winner to govern Guyana for the next five years.

The PNC has a track record of successfully rigging elections, but in 2020, all stakeholders were determined not to allow a reoccurrence and to fight them neck to neck so that only the party chosen by the majority of the people could win.

Today, the people of Guyana and the world at large can breathe a breath of fresh air and live peacefully and happily, knowing that the PPP/C will not stifle democracy but will allow liberty, equality and fraternity to be the order of the day.

Same can never be said of the PNC because hypocrisy is the foundation of their democracy and they never abide by any rules and regulations, but rather, they forego law and order in order to survive for their convenience. Guyanese from all walks of life have seen the immediate transformation of Guyana over the past three years under President Ali’s leadership.
All the Heads from CARICOM embrace him as one of their own and the one to lead the Caribbean to fruition.

President Ali is being welcomed at all international forums, and is required to address the gatherings as a leader of integrity and one leading by example.
It is not surprising that the PPP/C Government has addressed the issue of recognising, acknowledging and awarding individuals and organisations who played a meaningful role as an instrumental, significant and positive element in the restoration and preservation of democracy in Guyana during Elections 2020.

Perhaps the list is an exhaustive one and the criteria will have to entail a process of elimination, not because of credibility or priority, but because of practicality in the application of limitations.

After reviewing the matter in discussion and based on conducted interviews, reviews and other views, here is a suggested and unbiased list of possibly potential individuals and groups who must be considered, among others, to qualify for the October Democracy Award without any preference, priority or pretence:
1. The OAS Observer Team headed by former Jamaican PM, Bruce Golding.
2. The Commonwealth Observer Team headed by former Barbadian PM, Owen Arthur.
3. The ABCE Observer Team headed by former US Ambassador, Sarah Ann Lynch.
4. The Kaieteur news Team inclusive of Glenn Lall, Yog Mahadeo, Freddie Kissoon and Leonard Gildarie.
5. The Times Newspapers Team
6. The Carter Center Observer Team.
7. The Defenders of Democracy Team.
8. The International Centre for Democracy Team.
9. The ANUG Party Team.
10. The Private Sector Team headed by Jerry Gouveia.
11. The Diaspora Team inclusive of Dr. Nanda Gopaul, Dr. Vishnu Bisram, Dr. Randy Persaud and Dr. Tara Singh.
12. AG Anil Nandlall and the PPP/C Legal Constitutional Team.
13. Lennox Shuman from the Justice Party.
14. St. Vincent’s PM Dr. Ralph Gonsalves.
15. Barbados PM Mia Mottley.
16. Former American Ambassador Sarah Ann Lynch.
17. Former AFC Minister Dominic Gaskin.
18. Media Consultant Kit Nascimento.

Yours respectfully,
Jai Lall.


Scroll to Top
All our printed editions are available online
Subscribe to the Guyana Chronicle.
Sign up to receive news and updates.
We respect your privacy.