Mulder replaces Covid-positive Pretorius for West Indies T20Is
Wiaan Mulder has been retained from the Test squad.
Wiaan Mulder has been retained from the Test squad.

…Bavuma, who missed the Tests with a hip injury and then a dislocated finger, is expected to lead SA

SOUTH Africa allrounder Dwaine Pretorius has tested positive for Covid-19 and did not travel with the T20I squad to Grenada for their five-match series against the West Indies, which starts on Saturday. Pretorius is asymptomatic and is following stipulated protocols on recovery and eventual return to play. Wiaan Mulder was retained from the Test squad and will replace Pretorius for this series.

Mulder has played one T20I for South Africa, against Pakistan in April. South Africa also have another seam-bowling allrounder in Andile Phehlukwayo.
The South African contingent has travelled from the Test venue of St Lucia to Grenada and has all returned negative Covid-19 test results.

On the injury front, white-ball captain Temba Bavuma, who missed the Test series first with a hip injury and then a dislocated finger, is responding well to treatment and is expected to lead the team from the first match.
One other member of South Africa’s Test squad who was due to return home, left-arm seamer Beuran Hendricks, has been absorbed into the T20 squad.

South Africa’s other pace options are Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi, Sisanda Magala and Lizaad Williams, with rotation to be expected as this group of players will travel to Ireland, for three ODIs and three T20Is.
South Africa also welcomed back assistant coach Enoch Nkwe, who missed the Tests on family responsibility leave. Mandla Mashimbyi, the head coach of Northerns, who stood in for Nkwe has returned to South Africa.

SOUTH AFRICA T20I squad: Temba Bavuma (capt), Quinton de Kock (wk), Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, George Linde, Sisanda Magala, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi , Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams.(CRICINFO).

Scroll to Top
All our printed editions are available online
Subscribe to the Guyana Chronicle.
Sign up to receive news and updates.
We respect your privacy.