Rabada, Shamsi set up South Africa’s five-wicket win
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on google
Share on whatsapp

DAMBULLA, Sri Lanka, (Reuters) – Fast bowlers Kagiso Rabada and spinner Tabraiz Shamsi picked up four wickets each to set up South Africa’s five-wicket victory against Sri Lanka in the first one-day international at Dambulla on Sunday.

Rabada, who took 4-41, inflicted the early damage while left-arm spinner Shamsi provided the late breakthroughs with his 4-33 as South Africa bundled out Sri Lanka for 193 under 35 overs after the hosts won the toss and opted to bat.

Off-spinner Akila Dananjaya picked up two early wickets to give Sri Lanka hope but the touring side, who were mauled 2-0 in the test series, recovered to reach the target in 31 overs and take a 1-0 lead in the five-match series.

Opener Quinton de Kock and captain Faf du Plessis hit identical 47s to steady South Africa’s chase during a 86-run stand for the third wicket before the wicketkeeper-batsman became Dananjaya’s third victim.

It was left to JP Duminy to take South Africa home with an unbeaten 53 off 32 deliveries.

Earlier, Kusal Perera hit a 72-ball 81 to provide some respectability to Sri Lanka’s innings after the hosts were reduced to 36-5 in the face of a devastating opening spell from Rabada.

Kusal and Thisara Perera, who made 49, added 92 for the sixth wicket during a counter-attacking partnership before Shamsi separated them by dismissing the latter, caught behind to wicketkeeper de Kock.

Shamsi also dismissed Kusal, who was out caught trying to play a reverse sweep, after an entertaining innings that included 11 fours and a six.

The second match of the series will be played at the same venue on Wednesday.

SRILANKA 1st innings
Niroshan Dickwella c Tabraiz Shamsi b Kagiso Rabada 2
Upul Tharanga Run Out JP Duminy 10
Kusal Mendis c Quinton de Kock b Kagiso Rabada 3
Kusal Perera c David Miller b Tabraiz Shamsi 81
Angelo Mathews c Hashim Amla b Lungi Ngidi 5
Shehan Jayasuriya c Quinton de Kock b Kagiso Rabada 0
Thisara Perera c Quinton de Kock b Tabraiz Shamsi 49
Akila Dananjaya b Tabraiz Shamsi 11
Suranga Lakmal c Quinton de Kock b Kagiso Rabada 5
Lakshan Sandakan Not Out 5
Lahiru Kumara st Quinton de Kock b Tabraiz Shamsi 3
Extras 0b 4lb 2nb 0pen 13w 19
Total (34.3 overs) 193 all out
Fall of Wickets : 1-2 Dickwella, 2-11 Mendis, 3-22 Tharanga, 4-35 Mathews, 5-36 Jayasuriya, 6-128 Perera, 7-166 Perera, 8-179 Perera, 9-189 Lakmal, 10-193 Kumara

Bowling: Kagiso Rabada 8-0 -41 -4,Z(3w),
Lungi Ngidi 8 – 1 – 29 – 1, (4w),
Willem Mulder 3 – 0 – 34- 0(1w 2nb),
Andile Phehlukwayo 3 – 0 – 30-0, (1w),
Tabraiz Shamsi 8.3 – 0 – 33- 4,
JP Duminy 4 – 0 – 22 – 0.

SOUTH AFRICA 1st innings
Hashim Amla b Akila Dananjaya 19
Quinton de Kock c Suranga Lakmal b Akila Dananjaya 47
Aiden Markram lbw Akila Dananjaya 0
Faf du Plessis c Angelo Mathews b Lakshan Sandakan 47
JP Duminy Not Out 53
David Miller lbw Suranga Lakmal 10
Willem Mulder Not Out 14
Extras 0b 1lb 0nb 0pen 5w 6
Total (31.0 overs) 196-5
Fall of Wickets : 1-31 Amla, 2-31 Markram, 3-117 de Kock, 4-129 du Plessis, 5-172 Miller
Did Not Bat : Phehlukwayo, Rabada, Shamsi, Ngidi

Bowling: Akila Dananjaya 10- 0 – 50 – 3,
Suranga Lakmal 6 – 0 – 37 – 1 (1w)
Shehan Jayasuriya 4 – 0 – 23 – 0 (1w),
Lahiru Kumara 3 – 0 – 11 – 0 (1w)
Lakshan Sandakan 8 – 0 – 74 -1,(1w).

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on google
Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on google
Share on whatsapp
Scroll to Top
All our printed editions are available online
Subscribe to the Guyana Chronicle.
Sign up to receive news and updates.
We respect your privacy.