Attorney Dela Britton to be sworn in as PUC chairperson

Dela Britton is to be sworn in today as Chairperson of the Public Utilities Commission (PUC)

PRESIDENT David Granger will today swear in attorney-at-law Dela Britton to serve as Chairperson of the Public Utilities Commission (PUC).
She replaces Justice Prem Persaud, who proceeded into retirement in March 2017 after serving the PUC for nearly two decades, the Ministry of Public Telecommunications said in a release. Britton had herself been serving as a PUC commissioner, and she brings to this public utilities regulatory body a wealth of legal experience in Guyana and the USA.

She was admitted to the Guyana Bar in November 1995, after completing her Legal Education Certificate (LEC) at the Hugh Wooding Law School. A few years later, she enrolled in the Fordham University School of Law to pursue a Masters of Law (LLM) degree in International Trade Policy, Intellectual Property, Corporate Governance, International Law and more.

Over the past two decades, Ms. Britton authored and co-authored a number of Selected Papers and Publications while serving as a Managing Partner at the local law firm Britton, Hamilton and Adams. She has been the Legal Counsel/Expert for an array of large and medium-sized industrial business concerns, commercial banks and international organisations such as CARICOM and the UNDP. In addition, as a Consultant/Trainer with UNICEF she was integrally involved in several interventions concerning rights and conditions, health, education and general welfare for Guyana’s women and children.

Ms. Britton intends to apply her broad repertoire of skills to the government’s bid to strengthen the effectiveness of the Public Utilities Commission, which was established to regulate and monitor every public and private sector utility, ensuring that they operate at industry standards. The PUC was established in October 1990 under the Public Utilities Commission Act No. 26. This piece of legislation was subsequently amended four times — in 1991, 1994, 1999 and 2016. The commission consists of a chairman, who serves on a full-time basis and three commissioners appointed to serve part-time.