Home > SPORTS > OSCL stages glittering 18th annual presentation … confident of doing well in Guyana Cup

OSCL stages glittering 18th annual presentation … confident of doing well in Guyana Cup

TORONTO, Canada – Several outstanding cricketers were rewarded for their tireless efforts when the Ontario Softball Cricket League (OSCL) held its glittering 18th annual presentation buffet dinner and dance at the Easton Banquet Hall in Scarborough last Saturday night.

Coming on the heels of the OSCL squad’s departure for Guyana where they will participate in the Guyana Softball Cup, scheduled for this weekend, the players and executives were in buoyant mood in the festive atmosphere.
Among the notable awardees were former Guyana Under-19 players Krishna Deosarran, Troy Gobin, Ejaz Mohamed and Rovendra Madholall and former national fast bowler Trevon Garraway.
However, only Garraway will don Canadian colours when the OSCL XI open their campaign in the prestigious Guyana Cup on Friday at the Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC) ground, Bourda
Deosarran, who is rated as one of the best softball players both in Guyana and Canada, is reportedly representing one of the teams in Guyana as is Ejaz Mohamed. Gobin and Madholall are not part of the squad leaving here today.
Representing East Coast in the East Division Conference A, Deosarran totalled 326 runs to finish as the third highest scorer behind Suresh Persaud (399) and Anand Balwant (328). He was also his team’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) in a losing cause in the Grand Championship final versus eventual winners Cricketers Cove.
Deosarran was also part of the winning East Coast team which copped the Knockout Tournament All Stars Trophy sponsored by Remax All-Stars Realty Inc. while Caribbean Sensation carted off the Mortgage Specialist Scotiabank trophy as the runners-up.
Mohamed had the unique distinction of upstaging Deosarran in the Grand Championship final, emerging as the MVP for Cricketers Cove whose players and supporters were quite jubilant on Saturday night when the silverwares were handed out. The winners carted off the Twilight Restaurant and Bar Trophy while the runners-up took away the Paradise Travel Trophy. In addition, trophies were presented to the MVPs (in absentia) and all the players and officials from both teams.
Gobin, also a member of Cricketers Cove, had a highest score of 93 during the regular season while Madholall, who represented Rems, smashed a top score of 88.
Garraway featured in the President’s Cup Championship, representing winners East Division All Stars against West Division All Stars and was also a member of the OSCL Jaguars side which opposed OSCL Kaieteur in the Guyana Independence Cup which formed part of the annual anniversary celebrations here.
Former Essequibo Inter-county player Jaiminie Singh was also a noteworthy performer, slamming 371 runs to finish eight shy of Caribbean Sensation Jai Singh’s 379 in the East Division Conference B while Orlando Deonarine, also of Caribbean Sensation placed third with 329.
Three bowlers – Riaz Ali (Lions), Lalchand Shivraj (Rems) and Gavin Singh (Better Hope) recorded hat-tricks.
Kumar Doodnaught, (Cricketers Cove), with 286 runs, recorded the highest score in the West Division while Inul Rudolph’s 20 wickets turned out to be the most.
The East Division Conference A saw Pradeep ‘Polo’ Singh capture 22 wickets while Ashook Ramjas of Wakenaam took 25.
The East Division regular season champions Rems Sports Club took the Norman Sue Bakery Trophy for winning the Conference A while the Conference B winners were Grove Sensation who got the Remax All-Stars Realty Inc trophy.
Matrix Sports Club emerged top in the West Division regular season, copping the TDMJ Accounting & Bookkeeping Services trophy.
East Coast were the winners of the East Division playoff, defeating Caribbean Sensation in the final, thereby capturing the Rems Employment Agency Trophy while the losers took the Paragon Linen prize.
Four-time champs Cricketers Cove preserved their record with victory over Strikers Sports Club in the West Division playoff, taking home the Twilight Family Restaurant and Bar Trophy while the runners-up received the Hollis Wealth Financial Advisor trophy.
During the 2013 season, the OSCL also introduced its first T10 tournament which saw Better Hope come out as the inaugural winners and take the Caribbean Sensation trophy while the latter had to settle for the Active Green and Ross runners-up prize.
Rems were the T10 consolation winners, earning the Caribbean Sensation trophy while GT Bannas took the I Saw That On TV second prize.
The Knockout Consolation Trophy winners were Rebel Sports Club, taking the Active Green & Ross trophy while Belle Vue settled for B&B Video and Photography trophy as the runners-up.
Another innovation was a floodlit game, featuring a mixed team, played in the West End. All the participants and officials were in receipt of medals.
OSCL president Albert Ramcharran took the opportunity to express sincere thanks to the many sponsors who have shown faith in the organisation over the years. He was also full of praise for his executives for their excellent performance. Plaques were presented to executive members Bobby Ramlogan and Patrick Shivrattan for their outstanding service and commitment to the organisation. Matthew Francis was also awarded for his contribution to the banners.
Ramcharran also recognised the contributions of Inul Rudolph of Caribbean Airlines, Harry Sukhoo of Caribbean Sensation and the late Norman Sue of Norman Sue Bakery. Sue’s wife Lynette collected the plaque.
Meanwhile, the OSCL squad will wing out of Toronto today, confident of returning with the bacon when they appear in the Guyana Cup. They are billed to compete in the Open male category among 11 other teams who are vying for a top prize of G$800 000 and a runner-up purse of G$200 000..
The OSCL team will come from: Devanand Ramsaywack, Trevon Garraway, Ravin Babulall, Navin Bhup, Gavin Singh, Rayburn Gonsalves, Ryan Bhup, Rickey Mahadeo, Ian Gonsalves and Andy Persaud. Officials accompanying the players are president Albert Ramcharran, Vish Jadunaught, Patrick Shivrattan, Ryan Bhup and Terry Mathura who will also participate as a player.

(By Frederick Halley)

Leave a Reply

Hit Counter provided by laptop reviews