Home > SPORTS > Bishun, Knights and Pattadin are the new faces in Demerara lineup

Bishun, Knights and Pattadin are the new faces in Demerara lineup

….No place for Stoll, Ramdass or ‘Cheesy’ Singh

HAVING mesmerised batsmen in the Georgetown Cricket Association first division competition playing for Demerara Cricket Club, left- arm wrist spinner Totaram Bishun has found favour with the Demerara Cricket Board selectors, who announced their team to contest the upcoming Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) four day tournament.Bishun along with left arm fast bowler Randolph Knights and opener Christopher Pattadin, are the lone new faces in the Leon Johnson led team which will go up against Berbice, Essequibo and a President’s XI in the GCB four team competition which commences on Thursday.
The 14 man squad, which was released yesterday, comprises 11 players who have national experience, while four members have represented the West Indies in various tournaments.
Based on his selection as vice- captain to Veerasammy Permaul when Guyana contested the Regional four- day tournament earlier this year, Johnson was named the captain ahead of Ramnaresh Sarwan.
West Indies T20 all rounder Christopher Barnwell will serve as deputy to Johnson in the team which also includes Steven Jacobs, Trevon Griffith, Derwin Christian, Zaheer Mohammed, Amir Khan, Paul Wintz, Rajendra Chandrika and Trevon Garraway.
However, there was no room for left arm fast bowler Andre Stoll, former West Indies opener Ryan Ramdass and discarded national opener Vishal ‘Cheesy’ Singh, who were all placed in the standby list where they will be vying for a place on the President’s XI, along with Kellon Carmichael.
Guyana’s first class and West Indies Under-19 opener Tagenarine Chanderpaul was not considered since he would be away with the West Indies Under-19 squad, who will be journeying to Bangladesh to play a seven match return series .
Another discarded national opener in Shemroy Barrington also found himself battling for a place on the President’s XI along with Robin Bacchus, Jeetendra Sookdeo, Joseph Perry, Yatesh Dhanpaul and Shaquille Williams, after they failed to find favour with the DCB Selection panel.
Sherlock Atwell has been entrusted with the Managerial duties, whilst Orin Bailey will coach the team which will play their first game on Thursday against a team and at a venue to be named shortly.
The 14 man squad reads: Leon Johnson (Captain), Christopher Barnwell, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Trevon Griffith, Rajendra Chandrika, Chris Pattadin, Derwin Christian (wkpr), Steven Jacobs, Amir Khan, Totaram Bishun, Trevon Garraway, Randolph Knights, Zaheer Mohamed and Paul Wintz.
The standby players are: Ryan Ramdass, Vishal Singh, Robin Bacchus, Kellon Carmichael, Joseph Perry
Shemroy Barrington, Yatesh Dhanpaul, Andre Stoll, Jeetendra Sookdeo and Shaquille Williams.

(By Calvin Roberts )

Leave a Reply

Hit Counter provided by laptop reviews