Mouth-watering contests expected as OSCL 2019 season bowls off

Riaz Kadir

… Caribbean Sensation/Nirad Lall 10/10 takes centre-stage Saturday

By Frederick Halley

TORONTO, Canada – Several mouth-watering contests are anticipated when the Ontario Softball Cricket League (OSCL) bowls off its 2019 season with the Caribbean Sensation/Nirad Lall-sponsored 10/10 knockout tournament at several venues here on Saturday.

With defending champions Dant opting to take the year off, new champions will be crowned in Division One when the final takes place in August. Most of Dant’s players are now part of the newly-formed Mercenaries, who are being led by Looknauth Ramsuchit who skippered the champions in 2018.

Notable changes in Sunshine’s lineup are the inclusion of former Guyana national captain Damodar Daesrath, who is joined by Riaz Kadir – two former, prominent, stalwart Dant players.

In Saturday’s Division One action, Mercenaries will collide with Sennsation/Better Hope at Earnscliffe while Sunshine battle GTBannas at Glenobles. The other game features Rebels and Rems at Dean Park.

Anil Mahadeo

Apart from Ramsuchit, other notable players in the Mercenaries lineup are former Guyana and West Indies One-day player Royston Crandon, former Guyana and West Indies opener Rajendra Chandrika, who is set to make his debut, seasoned campaigners Aftab Shamsudeen, Avinash Sookdeo, Yadram Bhoj, Bolanauth Sukhu and Shaun Deonandan.

Not to be outdone, the Anil Mahadeo-led Sunshine, who are oozing with confidence, include former Guyana and West Indies Under-19 player Hemnarine Chattergoon, prominent all-rounder Mahendranauth ‘Bobby’ Parasnauth, Anil Etwaroo, Bernard Kartick, Reyaz Prahalad and Anil Ramoutar.

While Sunshine and Mercenaries are considered the front-runners, the other four teams – Rems, Rebels, Sensation/Better Hope (a merger for the new season) and GT Bannas should not be taken lightly.

Among those expected to turn out for Rems are Richard Dias, Ian ‘Russian’ Baldeo, former Guyana Under-19 batsman Eyaaz Mohamed, Anand Gurdial, Surujpaul Deosaran and Yoodhanlall Sukhlall.

Led by Zaheer Haniff, himself a former Guyana Under-19 player, Rebels also include other former youth players in Troy Gobin, Eion Katchay and Troy Gonsalves while former Canadian national players Abdul ‘Birdy’ Samad and Desmond Chumney also feature on their list.

The experienced Davendra Ramkissoon leads the Sensation/Better Hope combination with Rishi Samuel as his deputy, while Zakir Khan, Richard Driffield and Zaheer Allard are among the other big names.

GT Bannas are also coming strong with the likes of Elton Baker, Trevon Garraway, Ramo Malone, Freddy Pestano, Kevin George and Raja Pooran.

In Division Two, defending champions Cougars battle Canadian Legends at Ashtonbee Reservoir Number One; Enmore meet Bacchus Ruff Ryders at Ashtonbee Number One; Wakenaam clash with Good Success at Littles; Smashers and Ramblers rumble at Ashtonbee Number Two while Leguan Warriors come to grips with Carr Tec at Ashtonbee Reservoir Number Two.

Several matches in the regular season (20 overs) are also carded for Sunday across the Greater Toronto area.