49 women among 93 named for national awards

Veteran Educator, Donna Ann Chapman

FORTY-nine women from various fields are among those who will be conferred with National Awards by President David Granger as part of the celebrations of Guyana’s 52nd Independence Anniversary.

Professor Alvin Thompson

These persons have been recognised for their outstanding service and sterling contributions toward national development.

The awards will be presented at an investiture ceremony slated to be held on October 6, 2018.

Heading the list of 96 awardees is Founder of the Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM Guyana), Karen Abrams; followed by medical practitioner, Dr. Holly Patricia Alexander; veteran educator, Donna Ann Chapman; and Optometrist, Dr Michelle Ming all of whom will receive the Golden Arrow of Achievement, while the Ministry of the Presidency’s very own Presidential Photographer, Sandra Helouise Prince; Gender Consultant at the Ministry of Social Protection, Hazel Halley-Burnett; and Coordinator of Women Across Differences (WAD), Clonel Wendella Samuels-Boston will all be receiving the Medal of Service.

President David Granger has said that the conferral of national awards is recognised as a mechanism, provided under the Constitution of Guyana to give due national recognition to outstanding citizens, and he has committed to ensuring that these national honours are conferred regularly.

Presidential Photographer, Sandra Prince

In 2015, nineteen women from a total of 53 persons received national awards. The Order of Roraima was received by one person; three received the Cacique’s Crown of Honour (CCH); seven the Golden Arrow of Achievement (AA); five the Medal of Service (MS); and three the Disciplined Service Medal (DSM).

In October 2016, a total of 32 women received awards: Four received the CCH; 14 the AA; 12 the MS; and two the DSM.

That year, a total of 86 persons were conferred with awards, while 12 groups were conferred with the MS insignia in recognition of the country’s 46th Republic Anniversary.
In 2017, thirty-one women were conferred with national awards, with Acting Chancellor of the Judiciary, Madame Yonette Decina Cummings-Edwards leading the list at the time.
On October 6, 2018 when the investiture ceremony is scheduled to be held, 47 outstanding men who had offered yeoman service to the people of Guyana will complement the list of female Guyanese stalwarts.

Optometrist, Dr Michelle Ming

Businessman Komal Samaroo, Justice Oslen Small and Professor Alvin Thompson are in line to receive the country’s second highest award in the Order of Service, the Cacique’s Crown of Honour. The other awards and awardees are as follows:

1: Karen Abrams
2: Arnon Adriel Cornelius Adams
3: Holly Patricia Alexander
4: Valeska Austin
5: Robert Jiteshvar Badal
6: Claude Holmon Blackmore
7: Jerome Bulkan
8: John Goodridge Carpenter
9: Donna Ann Chapman
10: Eton McDonald Chester

Businessman Komal Samaroo

11: Michael Orlando Correia
12: Pravinchandra Dave
13: Dr Rovin Deodat
14: Denise Dawn DeSouza
15: Maurice Rudranauth Gajadhar
16: Sarah Julia Gordon
17: Everett Nathaniel Harewood
18: Noel Gordon Holder
19: Alim Azad Hosein
20: Mohamed Shabir Hussain
21: Salmaa Naseebah Khan
22: Monica Elizabeth La Bennett
23: Geraldine Maison Halls
24: Yvette Anita Martin
25: Michelle Ming
26: Hakeem Mohamed
27: Haji Shaheed Mohamed
28: Mohamod Zabeer Mujay
29: Aleema Nasir
30: Brian John O’Toole
31: Kent Brentnol Phillips

STEM Guyana Founder, Karen Abrams

32: Berneita Louretta Primo
33: Canon Thurston Riehl
34: Viola Rowe
35: Lennox Oliver Shuffler
36: David Jaikarran Singh
37: Angold Thompson
38: Aiesha Unickie Williams
39: Mathilda Saigo-Williams
40: Bertram Wilkinson
41: Norris Witter

1: Loretta Brotherson-Alexander
2: Morgan Allicock
3: Baidwantie Balgobin
4: Denise Yvonne Belgrave
5: Clonel Wendella Samuels-Boston
6: Basil Selwyn Bradshaw
7: Hazel Halley-Burnett
8: Yvonette Rhonda Chichester
9: Renata Chuck-A-Sang
10: Henry Clenkian
11: Kawalpattie Dayaram
12: Carlotta DeJesus

Medical Practitioner, Dr. Holly Patricia Alexander

13: Desiree Adele Edghill
14: Trenetta Hollis Elliot
15: Cleveland Leon Forde
16: Deon Cherryl Gould
17: Elaine Eugenie Grannum
18: Laurie Rufus Greenidge
19: Haimraj Dhanrajie
20: Paul Harris
21: Brenda Hastings
22: Casey Hastings
23: Wendy Ann Cleopatra Hermonstine
24: Yvette Herod
25: Ishwardai
26: Leontina Maria Jose
27: Darul Hakim Khan
28: Vernon Eustace Lambert
29: Barbara Angela Lawrence
30: Julie Lewis
31: Erol Kemal Makzume
32: Syeada Manbodh
33: Paula Erlena McAdam
34: Stanley Ignatius McGarrell
35: Pearl Gladys McLean
36: Shirley Melville
37: Barbara Pilgrim-Roberts
38: Gail Primo
39: Sandra Helouise Prince
40: Paulette Elene Ragoobeer
41: Nadia Ramdin
42: Sharifah Razack
43: Amanda Richards
44: Gaitree Singh-Henry
45: Ignatius Wilson
46: Nicholas Andre Young

1: Lt. Col Lester Sherwin Anderson
2: Lt. Col Godfrey Bess
3: Lt. Col. Julius Randolph Skeete

1: Assistant Commissioner Leslie Albert James
2: Assistant Commissioner Paul Andrew Williams
3: Divisional Fire Officer (Retired ) Paul Egerton Carmichael