Thirty-two teams to battle for $800 000 in Magnum’s Mash Futsal Championship

Members of the launch party for the inaugural Magnum Mash Futsal Championship at the Windjammer International Hotel and Cuisine, Kitty. In the photo are NSC’s Brian Smith (3rd from left), Legacy Entertainment member Esan Griffith (4th from left) and Magnum Brand Coordinator Edison Jefford (3rd from right).

YESTERDAY the inaugural Magnum Mash Futsal Championship was officially launched at the poolside of the Windjammer International Hotel and Cuisine in Kitty.

The championship, which will be held across eight days, is set to commence on Saturday at the National Gymnasium, Mandela Avenue, and will see 32 teams battling for more than $800 000 in cash and prizes.
The first four days are set for group stage action and upon conclusion of the round robin, the top two teams from each of the eight groups (four teams per group) will advance to the knockout round.

Meanwhile, at the launch, Edison Jefford, Magnum Brand Coordinator maintained: “It’s a historic moment for football and especially for Magnum and Legacy Entertainment.”
He further revealed that the tournament is being used as a platform to expand the brand locally.

In addition, Esan Griffith, representative of Legacy Entertainment stated that all logistics are in place, despite the initial challenges, for the successful staging of the competition, noting that he expects a very competitive and thrilling tourney.

Also present at the launch was Brian Smith, National Sports Commission (NSC) Deputy Director of Sport. Smith noted; “The NSC is pleased to be associated with the tournament. These tournaments are fertile ground for grassroots development.”
According to Smith, the development of sports cannot be undertaken solely by the government, declaring, “I am happy to see corporate Guyana come on board in such a big way.”

He further pointed out that the commission is happy to be a part of such events and will continue to support similar initiatives for the foreseeable future.
Among the marquee teams who will do battle are Gold is Money, Sparta Boss, Back Circle, Future Stars, Bent Street, Leopold Street, Albouystown-A, Tiger Bay, New Market Street, Broad Street, North East La Penitence, Channel-9 Warriors, Tucville, California Square, Showstoppers, MBK All-Stars, NK Ballers, Swag Entertainment, Ol Skool Ballers, Mocha, Buxton Diamond, YMCA and Ansa All-Stars.

The winners of the event will pocket $400 000 and the championship trophy, while the runners-up receive $200 000 and the corresponding accolade.
On the other hand, the third- and fourth-placed finishers will be compensated with $100 000 and $50 000 apiece and the respective trophy.