Azeez, Samaroo bowl Enterprise Primary Top to final … To face IBE in the Lower ECD Zone final

Rafeek Azeez and Yugendra Samaroo were the chief destroyers in Enterprise Primary Top’s 15-run victory.


A MESMERISING spell from 11-year-old leg-spinner Rafeek Azeez and 14-year-old medium-pacer Yugendra Samaroo spearheaded Enterprise Primary Top to a 15-run victory over Cummings Lodge Secondary when the 2016 edition of the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) National Secondary Schools Cricket League continued yesterday at the Enterprise Community Centre ground.Chasing 320 for victory the visitors folded for 104 in 17.5 overs. Azeez claimed 4-19 while Samaroo took 3-22.
Earlier, skipper Himnauth Dindyal stroked a fighting 42, which eventually guided his team to 119-7.
Deciding to bat first in brilliant sunshine, the hosts were given an opening stand of 33 between Dindyal and Mark Ramanad, but careless stroke playing and reckless running between the wickets saw them reduced to 50-4, at halfway through the innings.Medium pacer Shankar Sahadeo provided the visitors with the first breakthrough when he removed Ramanad for 12. Three balls later he claimed the wicket of Edmon Pearson without scoring, at 34-2.
The hosts then lost Dinesh Phagoo (0) and Rafeek Azeez (4), via run-out, but opener Himnauth Dindyal stood firm at the other end and singlehandedly took the attack to the opposition.
He buckled down to his task on a slow, dry-looking pitch and added 26 for the fifth-wicket with Jash Paul before the latter was bowled by Sahadeo for two.
It soon became 79-6, when Ricardo Niranjan was bowled by off-spinner Andrew Samar without scoring.
However, the 15-year-old Dindyal never looked in trouble and frustrated the visitors, showing the perfect attitude for such a situation, before he was dismissed in the final over. His innings was laced with both aggression and temperament, counting five fours.
Yugendra Samaroo was left unbeaten on 17. Sahadeo was the best bowler on show, claiming 3-28.
In reply, Cummings Lodge Secondary found scoring difficult, and as a result lost wickets at regular intervals, with only Devanand Khemraj (24), Andrew Samar (13) and Anand Puran (12), offering any resistance with the bat.
Meanwhile, in the other semi-final game played on Thursday at the same venue, IBE edged President’s College by seven wickets.
The final is scheduled for Wednesday at the same venue.