Wins for Walton Hall and Devonshire Castle in Lall Brothers T20 tourney


By Errol Stephney

WALTON Hall registered an exciting four-wicket victory over Young Achievers on Sunday at the Walton Hall ground in the Lall Brothers Memorial T20 Tournament as play continued in North Essequibo.After winning the toss, Walton Hall chose to bowl first. Penetrative spells from off-spinner Uvindra Balgobin -3-18 (4 overs) and seamer Lochin Persaud 2-26 (3 overs) aided in restricting Young Achievers to 138-7 from their allotted 20 overs.
Only Tameshwar Dhanpaul’s counterattacking 34,which included 3×6 and 2×4,served to bolster the innings. In reply, Walton Hall,despite losing three wickets within six overs,eventually consolidated and reached their target of 140 in 18 overs,losing 8 wickets in the process.
It was left-handed Latchman Singh’s responsible yet colourful innings of 48( 5×4) that ease the tension and gained victory for his team.
In the second match at the same venue, Devonshire Castle remained unbeaten with an authoritative display against Charity.
Winning the toss and batting first, Devonshire Castle tallied 135-7 from their 20 overs with skipper Anthony Persaud top scoring with 34 ,including 2×6 and 2×4.
He was supported by Essequibo’s senior batsman Avinash Persaud with 25( 3×6). A hostile spell of fast bowling by Ajay Jailall( 4-14 from 4 overs) was mainly responsible for Charity’s demolition for just 48 from 18 overs. The Competition continues.
Meanwhile ,Walton Hall and Imam Bacchus Sports Club will compete for the title in the Dillip Singh Double ‘D’ Mall’s 20/20 tournament in this Sunday’s final at the Walton Hall ground.
Representing Imam Bacchus will be former national batsmen Yogeshwar Lall, Latchman Rohit and Rovindra Parasram,while Walton Hall will feature Essequibo’s senior inter-county players Vishwanauth Lall, Lochin Persaud and Uvindra Balgobin.
The third place play-off will be between Ravens and Charity.That game will be played first from 2:30 pm. The finals will then be played under floodlights. Both matches will be officiated by Deva Dass and Wazeer Dhanraj along with Hakim Khan who will perform the duties of Match Referee.
Trophies and cash incentives will be presented by sponsor Dillip Singh,and he will be assisted by representatives of the North Essequibo Cricket Committee. Regional Executive Officer of Region 2,Mr. Rupert Hopkinson,is also expected to grace the occasion.