GAPSO elects New Executive Body


The Guyana Association of Private Security Organizations (GAPSO), elected a new executive committee at a special meeting held on October 27, 2016 to oversee the business of the association for the next two years.

A release from the association noted that the body unanimously elected Secretary Christopher Thompson of Sentinel Security Inc. as its President. According to the release, in his acceptance speech, the newly elected President accepted the position and thanked the gathering for their confidence and support while outlining his vision to provide direction and leadership to the association, building on the vision of the founding fathers.

He expressed his interest to improve the roles of GAPSO, including having amendments made to the private security Act, providing ongoing training opportunities, expanding membership base and greater cooperation with the Guyana Police Force.

Further, Mr. Whittington Braithwaite of SSAMS was elected Vice President and Public Relations Officer, Mr. Ghalee Khan of Integrated Security Services Inc. was elected Secretary. Treasurer Mr. Clyde Layne of Massy Group of Companies was reappointed.

Four executive committee members have also been elected.

– Mr. Johnny Mortley of Guyoil

– Mr. Lester Elliot of Kalibur Security

– Mr. Francis Nwaneri of GNIC

– Mr. Nicholas Braithwaite of SSAMS was nominated the Public Relations Officer

The Executive body will hold its first meeting over the coming weeks to chart the strategies for the years ahead.