National Sevens rugby team departs for Pan Am Games

The Rugby 7s team pose for a photo opportunity prior to their departure for Canada.

THE National men’s rugby Sevens team departed yesterday morning as they get ready to represent Guyana at the Pan American Games in Toronto, Canada from July 10 to 26. The team gathered in front of base Camp Ayanganna, Thomas Lands before they departed for the Cheddi Jagan International Airport.
Speaking to the media, manager Terrance Grant indicated that he expects an improved showing from the lads following their disappointing finish at the North American Caribbean Rugby Association’s 7s series recently.
“I would expect a much-improved performance in as much as we are in a group of death, with Argentina, the defending champions and our neighbours Brazil.
“We have to put behind us North Carolina. That is done and dusted. We have to think of what is in front of us which is the Pan Am Games and to improve on our 2011 performance,” he said.
The team will play in an Invitational Rugby 7s tournament, as a warm-up this weekend, where they will be looking to improve their kick-off reception something that has been a sore point for them against teams with height advantage, according to the manager.
Coach of the team, Theodore Henry, noted that the charges are upbeat about playing in the Pan Am Games where the big teams are headed. “We expect to go to the Pan Am Games and give it all that we have got. One of the things the guys are excited about is playing in the international tournament, coming up against the big teams. It is always the mindset of local ruggers to play against the world’s best and the Pan Am Games gives us the opportunity.”
After playing their practice matches against Ontario 7s team, Uruguay and A pro America team, they will head into the competition proper on July 11, taking on Argentina first, followed by Canada and Brazil.
Richard Staglon has been named captain while his charges are Peobo Hamilton, Lancelot Adonis, Rickford Cummings, Claudius Butts, Ronald Mayers, Patrick King, Akeem Fraser, Ryan Gonsalves, Dwayne Schroeder, Phibian Joseph and Avery Corbin. (Stephan Sookram)