Devanand Ramdatt is new Region 2 Chairman –Nandranie Coonjah elected Deputy

New Regional Chairman Mr Devanand Ramdatt with councillors of the Region Two RDC after the swearing-in ceremony yesterday

DEVANAND Ramdatt of Shiva Avenue, Zorg Village, Essequibo Coast is the newly-elected Chairman of Region 2, Pomeroon-Supenaam, and head of the Regional Democratic Council (RDC), while Nandranie Coonjah of Suddie Housing Scheme is the new Vice-Chairman.
Ramdatt was unanimously elected as Regional Chairman after a nomination was moved by PPP/C Councillor Beatrice Rozetta Mittelholzer and seconded by another PPP/C Councillor, Dr. Ranjeev Singh.
There being no other nomination for the position, Regional Executive Officer, Mr. Sunil Singh who was in charge of the elections declared Ramdatt the elected Chairman of Region 2.

For the position of Vice-Chairman, Coonjah was unanimously elected to that position after she was nominated by PPP/C Councillor Noel Lindon Arnold Adams and seconded by another PPP/C Councillor Doreen Jacobis.

There being no other nomination for the position of Vice-Chairman, Coonjah was declared the elected Vice-Chairman of Region 2 by the REO.

Ramdatt who took his official seat as Regional Chairman and head of the RDC after he was unanimously elected thanked the leadership and supporters of the PPP/C for his election. He has a wealth of knowledge in public management and administration and previously served the Regional Administration as Deputy Regional Executive Officer [DREO] and in the former Ministry of Youth, Sport and Culture as Deputy Director of Youth.
Before members of the PPP/C and the APNU+AFC Coalition were sworn in as councillors.
Regional Executive Officer, Sunil Singh told them that once the oath is administered they become the property of the state and will represent all the people of Region 2 and not any political party. Singh also called on the councillors to work as a team at the RDC level for the benefit of all the people in the region.

The Regional Executive Officer said the APNU+AFC Coalition secured five seats at the RDC level while the PPP/C got 12. The five councillors representing the APNU+AFC Coalition are Abdus Samad Baksh, Julian Cummings, Dacia Ulele Odessa Jones, Naith Ram and Hardat Narine. Those representing the PPP/C are Lindon Noel Arnold Adams, Showkat Ali, Nandranie Coonjah, Vilma Audrey De Silva, Doreen Jacobis, Kaimraj Nauth Kandhai, Subodh Mohandass Kishore, Beatrice Rozetta Mittelholder, Basil Bryan Persaud, Rabindranauth Mohan, Devanand Ramdatt and Rajeev Singh. The REO administered the oath of office to each councillor.

Regional Chairman Ramdatt said with the agreement of all councillors the date for the statutory meeting will remain the second Tuesday of each month. He also announced that the names of members of the sub-committees of the RDC will be announced at the next meeting this month. The Chairman called on all councillors to act professionally at all times, and put people first at the centre of development. (Rajendra Prabhulall)