Demerara and Berbice to clash in final round today


WITH DEMERARA scoring a remarkable 10-wicket victory over Essequibo in their first round and Berbice having their contest against the Essequibians washed out, today’s final round clash in the Guyana Cricket Board Under-17 Inter-county tournament between Demerara and Berbice at the Everest Cricket Club ground, should be an interesting affair.

When Demerara played Essequibo in the first round at the Enmore Community Centre ground, their fast bowlers led by Shurfane Rutherford and Travis Persaud, decimate d the Cinderella County batting for 106, despite Kemo Paul’s even 50.
Skipper Renaldo Renee, who backed the bowlers with a responsible and unbeaten 65 that overshadowed Paul’s innings, and Raymond Perez steered their side to 107 without loss off 19 overs to complete the commanding win.
Today, the duo will be looking to continue the same form against the Ancient County team, with ample support in the batting department coming from national Under-15 skipper Bhaskar Yadram, Rutherford, Malcolm Hubbard, Ronaldo Ali Mohammed and Timothy McAlmont.
Ewart Samuels, Samuel McKenzie, Rutherford, Travis Persaud, Hubbard, Sagar Hetheramani and Ashmead Nedd will take charge of the Demerara team’s bowling, with Nedd expecting to be a thorn in the Berbicians’ flesh, with his left-arm orthodox spin on a track that offers assistance.
Not to be outdone, Ritesh Omroa, Randy Wade, Brandon Persaud, Sylus Tyndell, Jaleel Jafar and Adrian Sukhwah will all seek to lead Berbice’s charge against the home team, with the aim of pulling of an upset victory.
Zaheer Mohammed and Yosef-Yisrael are the men in charge of this contest, which is expected to bowl off at 09:30hrs, with Edward Bowen executing the duties of third official.

Ronaldo Renee (captain), Raymond Perez, Travis Persaud, Malcolm Hubbard, Ramnarine Chatura, Sherfane Rutherford, Jadell McAlister, Richie Looknauth, Kelvin Sewpersaud, Ewart Samuels, Samuel McKenzie, Ershad Alli, Timothy McAlmont, Ronaldo Mohamed, Navindra Seeram, Vishwanauth Ramlakhan, Sagar Hetheramani, Darshan Persaud, Nikolai Reddy, Bhaskar Yadram. The manager is Clive Grimmond and the coach is Gavin Nedd.

Berbice: Adrian Sukhwah, Ritesh Omroa, Randy Wade, Kevin Sinclair, Steve Deonarine, Brandon Persaud (captain), Devindra Chatterpaul, Jaleel Jafar, Asif Ally, Nicholas Seonarine, Sylus Tyndell, Deon Sinclair, Randy Singh, Rameshwar Somwaru. The manager is Leslie Solomon and the coach is Julian Moore.

(Calvin Roberts)