GCB/IGLOO U-15 INTER-COUNTY : Hetheramani and Persaud place Demerara in driver’s seat against President’s XI : … Berbice lead Essequibo


SPINNER Sagar Hetheramani snared 5 for 11 before opener Joshua Persaud struck a robust ton for defending champions Demerara, who were large and in charge in their Guyana Cricket Board organised, Igloo Ice-cream-sponsored Under-15 Inter-county contest at the end of the first day yesterday.Playing at the Demerara Cricket Club ground, President’s XI won the toss and chose to bat first, reaching 57 for 4 off 29 overs at lunch before being bowled out for 72, 6.4 overs after the break as Hetheramani finished with 5 for 11 and received support from Ashmead Nedd who took 4 for 28.

Robin Williams 14, Chandradat Veerasammy 11 and Stephen Wilson 10 were the principal scorers for the Rest XI, who lost Anil Singh (9), Williams, Christopher Campbelle (8) and Wilson before the lunch period, at which point Hetheramani had figures of 2 for 7 and Nedd 1 for 24.
In their reply, Demerara raced to 235 for 4 from 39 overs, thanks to Joshua Persaud’s 105 which was decorated with 15 fours and three sixes and was backed by a solid 56 (10×4) from skipper Bhaskar Yadram and an unbeaten 41 from Alphius Bookie that included four fours.
Yadram and Joshua Persaud added 103 for the second wicket, after Demerara lost Paul Harris (0) who was bowled by Junior Phillips (1 for 56), while Persaud went onto add the same number of runs for the third wicket with Bookie, posting his ton in the process before being dismissed.
Faced with a deficit of 164, President’s XI started and finished their second innings disastrously, losing a wicket off the first and final deliveries of the day’s play to be 37 for 3 from 11 overs, with Campbelle unbeaten on 19 that included four fours, while Wilson, who was bowled off the final delivery by Hetheramani, made 15 which included two fours.
At the Everest Cricket Club ground, Essequibo won the toss and chose to bat first in slightly overcast conditions which became sunny as the day progressed, after both sides were met by GCB president Drubahadur and scored 124 all out off 38 overs, with Joshua Jones topscoring with 30 (3×4, 2×6).
Darshanand Indar and Arnold Adams offered support to Jones, contributing 15 and 13 to their team’s score, while Kevin Sinclair, Junior Williams, Kris Ramnarine and Stephan Kamaldeen took 2 wickets each for 1, 9, 27 and 41 runs respectively for Berbice who reached 194 for 7 off 38 overs at the close, for a lead of 70 runs, heading into today’s final day.
Steven Deonarine 44, Kevin Sinclair 34, Surendra Budhoo 20 and Williams and Haifa Walters with 18 each were the principal scorers for Berbice, while Govindra Gobin took 2 for 25 for Essequibo, who will begin their second innings this morning.
Written By Calvin Roberts