Albion Cricket Club name sub-committees for 2014


THE NEWLY-ELECTED executives of the Albion Community Centre Cricket Club, under the presidency of Lloyd Kanden, met recently and have named the club’s various Sub-Committees, captains and vice-captains of the respective teams among others for the year 2014.

The club’s selection committee will once again be chaired by Vemen Walter and will include Orvin Mangru and Muniram Lalbeharry along with the captain and the manager of the teams in question. Vice-president Imtiaz Bacchus heads the Disciplinary Committee with Totaram Haricharran, Dhanraj Budhu, Kanden and Walter being the other members.
Walter will also chair the Cricket Development Committee with Muthuswammi Permaul, Mangru, Lalbeharry, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Budhu and the club’s coach Andre Percival making up the full committee.
Treasurer Permaul is the chairman of the fund-raising committee which will also comprise businessman Deonarain Balram, Romeo Singh, Lalbeharry and Mangru.
West Indies left-arm-spinner Veerasammy Permaul was re-appointed captain of the club’s First Division Team with fellow West Indies spinner Devendra Bishoo as his deputy.
Lallbeharry will captain the club’s Second Division Team with Berbice Under-17 opener Balchand Baldeo as the vice-captain. West Indies U-19 left-arm-spinner Gudakesh Motie will captain the club’s Under-21 Team with Berbice Senior Inter-county opening batsman Kandasammy Surujnarine as vice-captain.
Guyana Under-19 all-rounder Sharaz Ramcharran and Baldeo are the captain and vice-captain respectively of the Under-19 team while Jousha Harrrichand will captain the Under-17 Team with Mathews Hardial as vice-captain.
Kelvin Omro is the Club’s new Under-15 captain with Ramesh Kassinauth as the vice-captain while at the Under-13 level, Vishal Permaul will be at the helm with Jitendra Outar being the vice-skipper.
The club’s various teams will again be managed by Permaul with Kanden and Mangru providing assistance.
Permaul and Walter will represent the club at the Berbice Cricket Board (BCB) level with Mangru being the alternate, while Budhu and Harricharran are the club’s two representatives on the Albion Community Centre Council.