Olympic champion Walcott big winner at national ceremony


PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad, (CMC) – Olympic gold medallist Keshorn Walcott was the big winner at the Spirit of Sport Awards, picking up four awards including Trinidad and Tobago’s Male Athlete of the Year.

The 19-year-old, who made history when he won the men’s javelin throw at this year’s London Olympics, took four of the five awards for which he was nominated.
He also walked away with the Sport Performance of the Year, Breakthrough Athlete of the Year, and Consistent Performer of the Year.
Cyclist Njisane Phillip beat out Walcott for the Record-Breaking Performance of the Year with his fourth place finish in the men’s match sprint at the Olympics.
Walcott threw 84.85 metres on the penultimate day of competition at the London Games, to become only the second Olympic gold medallist from Trinidad and Tobago, following Hasely Crawford’s achievement in 1976.
With the feat, Walcott became the first athlete from the English-speaking Caribbean to win gold in a javelin event and the first in 60 years from the Western Hemisphere.
Walcott’s coach Ismael Lopez Mastrapa was not to be left out, as he took the Coach of the Year award
Sprinter Kelly Ann Baptiste landed the Female Athlete of the Year award for her sixth place finish in the 100m final.
Grenada’s Olympic 400 metres champion Kirani James was also presented with the Caribbean Spirit of Sport award.
The Spirit of Sport Awards, staged by the Sports Company of Trinidad and Tobago and the Ministry of Sports, is in its second year.