Fifth Annual RBC/Cumberbatch Memorial …


‘40’ takes top position
HAVING finished in the runner-up position to then teammate Albert Philander in last year’s event, Roraima Bikers Club’s (RBC) Warren ‘40’ McKay stormed away with the top position in feature race of this year’s RBC organised 5th annual George Cumberbatch Memorial cycle programme, held around the inner circuit of the National Park on Sunday.

McKay was in a destructive mood, as he surged to front unchallenged, to claim a comfortable 150 metres lead  at the 400-metre mark and was never caught, winning by the same margin over his teammate Alonso Greaves, Junior Niles, Robin Persaud, Philander and Ian ‘Dum,b Boy’ Jackson in that order.
Enzo Matthews rode a magnificent race and was unfortunate not to finish within the top six, but managed to pick up four sprint prizes, while McKay carted off three and Niles, Philander and Jackson one each in the 30-lap event.
Philander did not go home empty-handed, though, as he did enough to repeat as the Category 3 and 4 champion, winning that category over Walter Grant-Stuart and Reginald Mendes, while McKay took the Category 1 and 2 event from Eric Sankar and Robin Persaud respectively with both races covering a distance of 10 laps.
In the BMX 9-11 two-lap event, Keon Harris took the top position from Deeraj Garbarran and Justin De Nobrega, with Julio Melville taking the BMX 12-14 three laps away from Darius Ramsammy and Sanjay Babolall.
The five-lap mountain bike race was won by Richard Charles over Ozia McAulay and Kester Croal respectively, while Kurt La Rose won the Junior/Juvenile 10 laps over Davenand Bissoon and Raul Leal respectively.
Competing in the Veterans Under-50 five laps, Niles reigned supreme over Raymond Newton and Linden Blackman with Monty Parris taking the Over-50 three laps from Walter Isaacs and Omar McDougall.
All successful cyclists were presented with prizes, while RBC would like to extend special thanks to George Humphrey of Humphrey’s Bakery and Kamal Seebarran of Ray’s Auto Sales, for making the event a successful one.
A big thank-you was also extended to the cyclists and spectators who turned out in their numbers and had a great time, along with the National Parks Commission for granting the club the privilege to use the venue for the event, which was held to the memory of the former cyclist and club president.