Reifer to captain CCC, Collymore joins staff


BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (CMC) – Experienced batsman Floyd Reifer has been named captain and his former Barbados teammate and West Indies pacer Corey Collymore has joined the Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC) staff for the upcoming West Indies first-class season.

Barbados-based CCC named a 13-man squad Tuesday with player/coach Reifer as captain and Collymore as assistant coach and fast bowling consultant.

Eight Barbadians are in the squad for CCC’s first-round match against Trinidad and Tobago in Jamaica from January 8 to 11.

The 37-year-old Reifer, who captained West Indies this year while top flight players were locked in a contractual dispute with the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB), takes over as captain from the Jamaican Simon Jackson, who led the side last season.

Collymore, 32, played most recently for Sussex in the English County Championship. He was a late addition recently to the Barbados trials but has now opted to join the CCC management staff.

The Barbadians in the squad include batsman Omar Phillips and off-spinner Ryan Austin, who both played for West Indies against Bangladesh in July.

Jamaicans Jackson and wicketkeeper/batsman Chadwick Walton, batsman Romel Currency of St Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago’s left-arm spinner Kavesh Kantasingh and the Guyanese pacer Gilford Moore are the only non-Barbadians in the unit.

Young batsmen Kjorn Ottley (T&T), Nkrumah Bonner (Jamaica) and Raymon Reifer (Barbados) are not in the squad in spite of stroking hundreds in a CCC trial fixture that ended on Tuesday.

With a record of four wins, four draws and four losses for 60 points, CCC finished joint fifth – with Barbados — in the 2009 WICB Regional 4-Day Championship standings behind runaway winners Jamaica (106), the Windward Islands (79), Leeward Islands (77) and T&T (70).

CCC Squad – Floyd Reifer (captain), Simon Jackson, Omar Phillips, Kyle Corbin, Nekoli Parris, Romel Currency, Chadwick Walton, Ryan Austin, Jason Bennett, Gilford Moore, Kevin McClean, Khismar Catlin, Kavesh Kantasingh.