Inter-Market football winners receive their prizes


WINNERS of the just concluded 2009 Power Stout Inter-Market Football tournament were presented with their prizes at a simple ceremony Monday at Banks DIH Conference Room at Thirst Park.

Organiser O’Neill Durant far left, Banks DIH official Troy Peters and Director of Sport Neil Kumar pose with the prize winners at the simple ceremony on Monday.

Bourda Market team inflicted a 5-1 over Plaisance Market in the final played recently at the GFC ground while Kitty Market edged out Stewartville 1-0 to take the third place prize.

The winning Bourda side carted off $150,000 and a trophy donated by the National Sports Commission (NSC), while Plaisance secured $100,000 and the NSC Trophy at the presentation ceremony.

Kitty received a cheque for $75,000 while Stewartville claimed $50,000.

Organiser of the Tournament O’Neill Durant of Stabroek Warriors Sports Group thanked Banks DIH Ltd. for sponsoring the tournament under the Power Stout brand.

“I would like to thank Banks DIH and more especially Mr. George McDonald, Marketing Director of Banks for helping us to realise our goal of organising the tournament this year after an absence of two years,” said Durant.

He said his Group also received assistance from Director of Sport Neil Kumar and the National Sports Commission.

Kumar who attended the presentation ceremony said that the organizers could look forward to future assistance from the NSC.

According to Kumar, football was receiving great exposure locally and he called on the organisers to plan in advance so that their event would not clash with other major football tournaments.

Banks DIH Communications Manager Troy Peters said that his company was pleased to sponsor the tournament once again.

He said that Banks DIH had been on board with the organisers from the inception of the Inter-Market tournament.

Manassah Primo was voted the Most Valuable Player and the leading scorer with six goals and for his effort was presented with a Trophy donated by Kei-Shars.

According to O’neill football fans can look forward to a bigger tournament next year.

The tournament attracted 16 municipal teams from Linden, East Coast of Demerara, Bartica, Berbice, West Demerara and Georgetown